Club History

The Club was founded in 1932 by the Very Reverend Dr. W. Fitzpatrick and Reverend Brother E. Fitzgerald and came about from a concern at the lack of organised recreational facilities for the rapidly increasing number of boys in the parishes of Fairview and Marino, following the completion of the Marino Housing Scheme – the first large scale public housing scheme undertaken by the newly independent Irish government. The Club was formally registered on 2 September 1931. Blue and white were the colours chosen to be worn by the new Club.

Over the following decades the name of St. Vincents became synonymous with success at juvenile and then adult level, and contributed significantly to the success of Dublin county teams in hurling and football. Many St. Vincents players became household names in the GAA world, including Des and Lar Foley, Kevin Heffernan, Norman Allen, Paddy Donnelly, Mark Wilson, Cyril Freaney, Jack Gilroy, Brian Mullins, Jimmy Keaveney, Tony Hanahoe, Gay O`Driscoll, Dave Billings, Fran Ryder, Mickey Whelan, Bobby Doyle, Tommy Conroy, Sean McDermott, Ciaran Barr, Eamon Heery, Pat Gilroy, Tomás Quinn, Ger Brennan, Tomás McGrane, Ronan Fallon and Diarmuid Connolly.

The 1950s were particularly memorable years for the Club when, in 1954, a new record was set when the Club won its sixth Dublin senior football title in a row – it would go on to claim it`s seventh in 1955; the 1950s also saw St. Vincents provide fourteen of the Dublin team that brought home the National League title to Dublin, defeating Cavan in 1953, and wearing the Club colours. In 1958 Dublin won both senior and minor football All-Irelands and, on that day, St. Vincents had eighteen players involved between both teams, with Des Foley captaining the minor team. Des, Kevin Heffernan and Tony Hanahoe later went on to captain Dublin All-Ireland winning sides.

In the early 1980s the Club came home to Marino from its previous location in the Oval in Raheny, and in 1996 the local Marino Camogie Club amalgamated with St. Vincents, thus offering hurling, football and camogie to over five hundred juvenile players and approx. two hundred adult players from the north-east area of Dublin predominantly.

Tomás Quinn lifts Andy Merrigan Cup 20082007/08 has seen us bridge a 23 year gap, or famine as its known in GAA circles, to recapture the Dublin Senior Football title, and in doing so gave us the chance to challenge for the Leinster and All Ireland title. On March 17th this year Tomas Quinn marched proudly up the steps of the Hogan Stand, like many St. Vincents men of the past, to lift the and Andy Merrigan Cup and 2008 All Ireland Club Championship title.

To date St. Vincents has won twenty four senior football championships, four Leinster Club football championships and two All-Ireland Club football championship, in 1976 and 2008; thirteen senior hurling championships, and nine senior camogie championships (seven as Marino) and one Leinster Club camogie championship, in 1998. The first senior football championship was won in 1949; our first hurling championship at senior level in 1953, and our first senior camogie championship, as St. Vincents, in 1998. Other notable achievements include the All-Ireland Feile Peil na nÓg title in 2000 and the All-Ireland Feile na nGael camogie title in 2003. In 2005 the Senior `A` camogie team completed the league and championship double and we are confident that, with the number of juvenile players in the Club, more success at senior level in hurling, football and camogie is just around the corner.

The Club continues to make a real contribution to the fortunes of our inter-county teams and we are delighted that five of our members were involved with the Dublin Junior camogie team that recently retained the All-Ireland title – captained in 2005 by Eimear Brannigan, and, of course, Mossy Quinn has helped to light up several summers recently. 2006 saw the Dublin Colleges bring home the All-Ireland hurling title for the first time and St. Vincents was represented on that team by Diarmuid Connolly and Cian McBride – hopefully success like this and that enjoyed by the Dublin Minor hurling team in 2005 will help to bring on hurling in the capital.

2013/2014 Season:

The Senior Footballers won the Dublin, Leinster and All Ireland Senior Club Championship again in the 2013/2014 season following on from their two previous wins in 1976 and 2008. Mossy Quinn reigned supreme throughout the Championship winning top player in Leinster over this period. This brings the Football winning tally to 26 Dublin Championships, 5 Leinster and 3 All Ireland`s in the History of the Club. 

Senior Hurling teams in the Club have won 13 Senior Club Dublin Championships in our history also.